Monika Karas elected BEREC Vice-Chair for 2020

Published: 3 October 2019

In recognition of the Hungarian infocommunications profession, NMHH President Monika Karas was elected one of the vice-chairs of the Body of European Regulators for Electronic Communications (BEREC) today.

At today’s leadership election meeting of the BEREC in Greece, member states elected new executive officers. President of the Belgian infocommunications authority Michel Van Bellinghent was elected Chair for 2021 and Vice-Chair for 2020. In 2020 Vice-Chairs of the body will include NMHH President Monika Karas, head of the Croatian infocommunications authority Tonkok Obuljen and outgoing BEREC Chair Jeremy Godfrey of Ireland. In 2020 the body will be headed by Dan Sjöblom of Sweden. BEREC officers are elected for one-year terms. The elected chair acts as vice-chair for one year before and for another year after their term in office.

For the first time, the BEREC decided on the candidates not at its last plenary session in December but at its autumn meeting to facilitate the development process of the work programme and to provide more time for preparation, the involvement of stakeholders and for planning.

What is BEREC?

BEREC is the Body of European Regulators for Electronic Communications, a regulatory body consisting of the leaders of the national regulatory authorities of the 28 European states. The BEREC offers advice to the European Commission and the national regulatory authorities consisting of BEREC members, and also assists the European Parliament and the European Council in issues related to the application of the EU’s regulatory framework of electronic communications. The mission of the BEREC is to guarantee fair competition and standardized regulation on the internal electronic communications market in the interests of European consumers.

More information: